Walking in the Woods

Many thanks to Margot Kinberg for pointing out ‘My Life in Books’, a fun quiz/meme/whatever, developed by Pop Culture Nerd, where you describe your year to date using the titles of books you’ve read during the same period.

Needless to say, I’ve had to cheat like crazy, both in adding words (the ones in square brackets) and in delving back into my reading history to find appropriate books. I simply haven’t had time to read enough books to answer the questions properly otherwise. However, I can say hand on heart that I’ve read all the books I list here, at one time or another. So, here goes. I hope you’ll forgive the liberties.

Oh – and the blog post title is from the eponymous book by Bill Bryson…

My to-do list looks like: Knots and Crosses (Ian Rankin)
If a peeping Tom peeked into my bedroom, he’d: Touch Not the Cat (Mary Stewart)
If Martians meet me, they’d think: The Stranger’s Child (Alan Hollinghurst)
My doctor is always telling me: Great Expectations (Charles Dickens)
The weirdest thing that happened this past week: A Very Persistant Illusion (L C Tyler)
I often daydream about: A Perfectly Good Man (Patrick Gale)
The government shutdown makes me: From Blue to Black (Joel Lane)
If I win the lottery, I’d: [drink] Blackberry Wine (Joanne Harris)
My superpower is: The Spell (Alan Hollinghurst)
I knew I was a book lover when: [I was in] The Swimming Pool Library (Alan Hollinghurst)
My blogging experience has been: Comfort & Joy (Jim Grimsley)

2 thoughts on “Walking in the Woods

  1. Tess – Thanks much for the kind mention. You’ve come up with some excellent responses here! I especially love about winning the lottery and the one about your daydream. So inspired! And how nice to see the mention of Touch Not the Cat, which I read years ago and liked very much. Fond memories there! Oh, and I do love Bill Bryson’s books. Such a nice thread of wit through his books.

    • You’re welcome, Margot – I’d never have found the quiz without your blog post.

      I found it a real challenge – I think the hardest one was the book lover because nothing would fit! Great fun, though, and a nice reminder of some ‘old friends’ in book terms.

Leave a Reply

