Wet wadge

Yet another strange little news story caught my eye – this tale of a dog-walker finding £60,000 floating in his local canal.

It’s not finding the money that’s so odd, it’s how it got there in the first place. The most logical answer is that someone chucked the proceeds of a crime away to save themselves being caught red-handed with the loot. But I can’t help feeling that some hapless new recruit to a local gang took his boss’s instruction to ‘launder the money’ a little too literally.

“There you go, boss, all nice and squeaky clean for you. I even threw in some Ariel while I was at it.”

Sadly, much of the money is too badly waterlogged to be recoverable. Whoever chose such a damp hiding place must be kicking themselves they didn’t at least wrap it in something waterproof first.

On a different note, heavens – I sounded grumpy yesterday. Sorry about that. I do, however, have a good excuse because by bedtime I’d developed a raging sore throat, aches and sneezing fits. It’s early in the year for the annual dose of flu, but that doesn’t seem to have stopped this particular bug. *sniff* I’ll be back once I’ve raided the medicine cabinet…

2 thoughts on “Wet wadge

Leave a Reply

