UK’s dumbest criminals?

There are some dumb criminals out there, but these two would take some beating – they burgled a house, stole from a car, then stopped a police officer to ask for directions to the train station. While, presumably, the stolen goods were on their persons.

It’s a wonderful idea for a story, but I’m left with the burning question “why”? Which might be an even better idea for a story.

Does anyone else have any wonderful tales of idiocy amongst the criminal ranks? I’d love to hear them if you do!

6 thoughts on “UK’s dumbest criminals?

  1. Tess – Ha! What a priceless story! Yes, that’s definitely a ‘dumb criminal’ story. I’ve heard this one (‘though I can’t verify it from an original source): Apparently a bank robber demanded money from the teller. So far so good. Then, he demanded that the money be deposited to his account – in the very bank he was robbing! As I say I can’t swear it really happened, but I do think it did.

  2. Yes. My father’s business was burgled many years ago. The police caught them because three days later they were still driving around in the van with all the goods from several robberies. I’m not sure if that’s arrogance, stupidity, or both.

Leave a Reply

