Awkward…

I’ve been working on my current novella today, writing a chapter which works up towards a specific surprise disclosure by one of the characters.

I reached the last few paragraphs, all set to introduce the surprise.

And realised I’d forgotten what it was.

Cue much scrabbling amongst the bits of scrap paper on my desk, all of them liberally covered with mad scribblings and half-intelligible notes, until I finally found one that reminded me what I’d been aiming for.

Now I can finish off the chapter, but how embarrassing would that have been if I’d never remembered?  And has anyone else ever done anything similar?  Or worse?

Leave a Reply

