Favourite authors

I got tagged on Facebook the other day (as you do) to list my 15 top/favourite/most influential authors, without pausing for too much thought.

Well, I couldn’t comply with the last bit – it took me a couple of days of brow-furrowing and pen-sucking, and even then I forgot one of my all time favourite authors in the final list.  So this is the amended list, with many apologies to Daphne du Maurier, and to Evelyn Waugh who got replaced through no real fault of his own.

I read copiously as a child and many of those on the list are from that time, but it also includes more recent discoveries.  Some have had a direct influence on my writing, others on my life, others are listed for pure enjoyment.  But whatever the reasons, in no particular order, here are my top 15:

  1. Agatha Christie
  2. Ngaio Marsh
  3. Dorothy L Sayers
  4. Georgette Heyer (particularly her crime novels)
  5. Mary Stewart (ditto)
  6. Mary Renault
  7. Dorothy Dunnett
  8. Daphne du Maurier (The House on the Strand quite possibly my all-time favourite book)
  9. J R R Tolkien
  10. Joanne Harris
  11. Ann Cleeves
  12. C S Lewis
  13. Patrick Gale
  14. Douglas Adams
  15. Arthur Ransome

There are loads of other authors I’ve loved over the years, far too many to mention here.  The list would go on for days!  But all of those have had quite an impact.  I leave it up to you to decide if you can see their influences in my work…

4 thoughts on “Favourite authors

Leave a Reply

