Troubled Waters

4303225_origGood news this morning – I have a new short story available at Pulp Metal Magazine.

‘Troubled Waters’ (the plural is deliberate!) is set in Liverpool during the recent riots, with flashbacks to the Toxteth riots in the early 1980s.  I arrived at university in the city less than a year after those riots and I can still remember the burned-out cinema and a feeling of quiet anger on the streets.  I’ve tried to capture some of that atmosphere in the story – let me know if I succeeded.

As well as riots, the story features Simon & Garfunkel, the Pied Piper of Hamelin, and a magic flute!  Not bad in something dark, poignant and disturbing…

You can find the story here and I hope you enjoy it.

One thought on “Troubled Waters

Leave a Reply

