Getting to grips with html5

You may remember a short(ish) time ago I revamped my website using spiffy new html5 coding. Well, it looked very stylish, but I was such a Coding Doofus that I didn’t understand enough to get more than a single page up and running. This meant I couldn’t have nearly as much content as I really wanted – not least, a whole page for my book ‘Raise the Blade’.

I spray references to the book around on social media and even in real life, and it’s always good to have somewhere to direct people, to where they can find out more. Top of the list in this respect is a nice, easy to remember web link. Bottom of the list is the suggestion that they just go to your web page and rummage around until they find what they’re looking for.

I’ve been managing on that last arrangement for far too long, but I’m delighted to say that I’ve now learned enough about html5 coding to expand my website, so it consists of six separate pages. There’s one for my bio, one for all my books and stories, one for works in progress, and most importantly, one for ‘Raise the Blade’. This includes more details about the book including quotes, blurb, an excerpt, a wonderfully creepy video courtesy of my publisher Caffeine Nights, and links to various articles and blog posts about the book.

Huge thanks are due to those nice folk at Html5-Up, a web design company who provide stylish, idiot-proof and above all, free, templates for lesser-trained users like me. I couldn’t have done it without all their hard work.

You can find the generic web page at http://www.tessmakovesky.com, and the ‘Raise the Blade’ page here.  I hope you’ll find it useful and a bit more informative than the last version!

2 thoughts on “Getting to grips with html5

Leave a Reply

